The following Canadian institutions from Edmonton are cooperation partners:

University of Alberta

With about 40,000 students, the University of Alberta is the largest and oldest higher education institution in Edmonton. The comprehensive range of subjects offered by this research institution achieved top ratings in national and international rankings - TOP 6 in Canada according to the THE ranking. In more than 20 faculties and schools on 5 campuses, undergraduate, graduate, and targeted pre-employment programs are offered. About 6,500 international students are enrolled at the University of Alberta.

The University of Alberta sets the following priorities in research

MacEwan University

MacEwan University offers mainly undergraduate programs. The 19,000 students are divided into 6 faculties and schools: from natural sciences to health and society, arts and communication to business and continuing education.

Here you find the research profile of MacEwan University.

Northern Alberta Institute of Technology

The Northern Alberta Institute of Technology is a college of technical and applied education. 28,000 students take part in undergraduate and applied degrees as well as trainings on 6 campuses. The NAIT offers the following areas: economics, science, technology and health sciences.

The NAIT sets the following priorities in research:


Concordia University of Edmonton

The Concordia University of Edmonton offers mainly undergraduate and professional programs in arts, sciences and management. Master programs are available in the subjects of education and health sciences. The Concordia University of Edmonton impresses with an excellent music department.

Click here for research at the Concordia University of Edmonton.

These German universities are partners of the cooperation:

Bielefeld University of Applied Sciences

Bielefeld University of Applied Sciences (FH Bielefeld) works closely together with industrial communities and businesses in the region, with regards both to teaching and applied research. FH Bielefeld has over 100 partnerships worldwide and is constantly expanding its international cooperations. Its 10,000 students are enrolled in 60 degree courses across three campuses in Bielefeld, Gütersloh and Minden. With a choice of different study models, many degree courses (homepage in German) are offered in cooperation with local companies.

There are five faculties: Design, Architecture and Technology, Engineering and Mathematics, Social Sciences, Business and Health.

FH Bielefeld's research is guided by the global social challenges of the future, concentrating in particular on the compelling issues of climate and energy, health, mobility and communication. The research profile is characterised by the following institutes and focus areas:

(The following homepages are available in German language only)


 Focus Areas:

Bielefeld University

Bielefeld University is a young research university with 24,000 students and more than 2,700 employees. With 115 subjects in humanities, natural sciences, social sciences and technology, Bielefeld University abides by the principle of interdisciplinary teaching and research according to the guiding concept of 'transcending boundaries'.

There are 6 English-taught master's courses and other international courses, such as double degree programs. The Cluster of Excellence in Cognitive Interaction Technology (CITEC), the Center for Biotechnology (CeBiTec), and the Bielefeld Graduate School in History and Sociology (BGHS) are further international and interdisciplinary offers of the university.

Bielefeld University sets the following priorities in research:

Paderborn University
With 20,000 students and more than 2,300 employees, Paderborn University is the second largest educational institution in OWL. 62 courses are offered in the 5 Faculties of Cultural, Economic and Natural Sciences, as well as Mechanical and Electrical Engineering, Computer Science and Mathematics, including several international master's programs in e.g. Computer Science and Electrical Power Engineering. Research fields include Digital Humanities and Intelligent Technical Systems. The interdisciplinary research institution works closely with companies from the private sector.

The research profile of Paderborn University sets the following priorities:

OWL University of Applied Sciences

The OWL University of Applied Sciences is represented at 4 locations: Lemgo, Detmold, Höxter and Warburg. Thus, the institution taps the full potential of OWL and its companies, to which there are very good connections. About 7,000 students are enrolled at the OWL University of Applied Sciences, which is divided into 9 departments. In addition to Media Production, Mechanical Engineering, Mechatronics and Life Science Technology, the study offer also includes Landscape Architecture and Environmental Planning.

The research profile of the OWL University of Applied Sciences sets the following priorities:

  • Intelligente Automation
  • Lebensmitteltechnologie
  • Agile Energielösungen im Bereich der Quartiere, Mobilität und Arbeitswelten
  • Intelligente Energiesysteme
  • Kulturlandschaft
  • Nachhaltige Wasserwirtschaft und vorsorgender Gewässerschutz
  • ProErgo - Ergonomische Gestaltung von Produktionsmaschinen im Kontext von Industrie 4.0
  • DiMan - Direkte Digitale Fertigung im Kontext der Industrie 4.0
  • nextPlace - Raum-Zeit-Muster der integrierten Mobilität.
  • ConstructionLab
  • Innovative Werkstoffe
  • PerceptionLab
  • urbanLab