FH Bielefeld
University of
Applied Sciences

Cooperation Partners

Alberta OWL Cooperation - symbol picture by pixabay.com rawpixel

The following Edmonton-based universities are Canadian cooperation partners:

University of Alberta


With around 40,000 students, the University of Alberta is the largest and oldest university in Edmonton. The comprehensive range of subjects offered by this research institution achieves top positions in national and international rankings – TOP 6 in Canada according to the THE ranking. More than 20 faculties and schools on 5 campuses offer undergraduate, graduate and vocational preparation programmes. Around 6,500 international students are enrolled at the University of Alberta.

The University of Alberta focuses on the following areas of research:
MacEwan University


MacEwan University is Edmonton’s downtown metropolitan university, offering a transformative education in a collaborative and supportive learning environment. With more than 65 programmes, creativity thrives through research and innovation that engages students, faculty and the community. 19,000 students are enrolled at the university’s six faculties and schools: from arts and science to fine art and communications, from health and community studies to continuing education, from nursing to business. MacEwan University instructs at the undergraduate level, offering degrees, diplomas, and certificates.

Click here for the research profile of MacEwan University.

Northern Alberta Institute of Technology


Northern Alberta Institute of Technology is a college of technical and applied education. 28,000 students take part in undergraduate and applied degrees as well as trainings on 6 campuses. NAIT offers the following areas: economics, science, technology and health sciences.

NAIT focuses on the following areas of research:

Concordia University of Edmonton


Concordia University of Edmonton mainly offers undergraduate and professional programmes in arts, sciences and management. Master programmes are available in the subjects of education and health sciences. Concordia University of Edmonton impresses with an excellent music department.

Click here to view the research section of Concordia University of Edmonton.

On the German side, these universities belong to the cooperation partners:

University of Applied Sciences Bielefeld (FH Bielefeld)


Bielefeld University of Applied Sciences (FH Bielefeld) is closely connected with the regional economy and industry in teaching and applied research. It is constantly expanding its international cooperation and currently maintains more than 150 international partnerships. Its 10,000 students are enrolled in 41 bachelor’s, 28 master’s and 6 certificate programmes at three locations in Bielefeld, Gütersloh and Minden. In different study models, joint study courses are offered in cooperation with companies, among other things.

There are six faculties: Design, Minden Campus, Engineering and Mathematics, Social Sciences, Business and Health.

The university’s research profile is geared to the global social challenges of the future and places particular emphasis on the fields of climate and energy, health, mobility and communication. The research profile is characterised by the following institutes and focal points:

Institutes (only in German)

Focus (only in German)

Bielefeld University


Bielefeld University is a young research university with 24,000 students and more than 2,700 employees. With 115 subjects in the humanities, natural sciences, social sciences and technology,  Bielefeld University lives the principle of interdisciplinary teaching and research according to the guiding principle “Transcending boundaries.” The university offers 6 fully English-taught master’s programmes and other international programmes, such as double diploma programmes. The Cluster of Excellence in Cognitive Interaction Technology (CITEC), the Center for Biotechnology (CeBiTec), as well as the Bielefeld Graduate School in History and Sociology (BGHS) are further international and interdisciplinary offers of the university.

Bielefeld University focuses on the following areas of research:

Paderborn University


With 20,000 students and more than 2,300 employees, the Paderborn University is the second largest educational institution in OWL. In the 5 faculties for cultural sciences, economics and natural sciences, as well as mechanical engineering and electrical engineering, computer science and mathematics, 62 study courses are offered. Among them are also several international master programmes in e.g. computer science and electrical power engineering. Research fields include digital humanities and intelligent technical systems. The interdisciplinary research institution works closely with companies in the private sector.


The research profile of Paderborn University focuses on the following areas:

Ostwestfalen-Lippe University of Applied Sciences (TH OWL)


Ostwestfalen-Lippe University of Applied Sciences (TH OWL) is represented at 3 locations: In Lemgo, Detmold and Höxter. Thus, the complete potential of OWL and its companies, to which very good connections exist, is used. Around 7,000 students are enrolled at Ostwestfalen-Lippe University of Applied Sciences, which is divided into 9 departments. These include media production, mechanical engineering and mechatronics, life science technology, as well as landscape architecture and environmental planning.


The research profile of Ostwestfalen-Lippe University of Applied Sciences focuses on the following areas: