FH Bielefeld
University of
Applied Sciences

Software-Stack

Icon-DE German Version

Hadoop

The Hadoop framework forms the basis of the system. Several components like distributed databases and file systems, redundant data storages and parallel processing mechanisms for intensive computations provide optimal grounds to carry out scalable machine learning projects successfully. The available hardware is exploited optimally by the framework in order to efficiently process large amounts of data.


AI-Platform / Toolstack

Besides different database concepts, like Hadoop HBase (NoSql) and Hadoop Hive (SQL), and the distributed file system Hadoop HDFS, the overall software stack consists of further tools that are suited for data science and machine learning. Since the applied software can be individually customized towards different project requirements, several opportunities and approaches exist to apply machine learning to different problems/projects. The following enumeration gives a brief overview of some tools that are commonly applied in our projects:

  • Programming: Python3
  • Virtualization: docker, anaconda, virtualenv
  • Notebook Platform: Jupyter Hub
  • Machine Learning: Tensorflow, Keras, Scikit-learn
  • Data Analysis: pandas, matplotlib, rapids
  • Smart Service Interface: django, flask, nodejs


GPU Nodes for Deep Learning

8 CUDA-enabled GPUs (NVIDIA Tesla-P100 with 12 GB) guarantee that the required performance is available in order to apply intense computations like learning with deep neural networks. The cluster is ready to process complex machine learning pipelines, with huge amounts of parameters involved, very efficiently.Available APIs:

  • NVIDIA CUDA
  • OpenCL
  • OpenACC

FH Bielefeld
University of
Applied Sciences

Software-Stack

Icon-EN English Version 

Hadoop

Das Hadoop Framework bildet die Basis des Systems. Mit verteilten Datenbank- und Dateisystemen, redundanter Datenhaltung und paralleler Verarbeitung von intensiven Rechenprozessen sind alle Voraussetzungen für skalierbare ML-Projekte erfüllt. Das Framework nutzt die verfügbare Hardware optimal aus und kann daher auch besonders große Datenmengen effizient verarbeiten.


AI-Platform / Toolstack

Der eingesetzte Software-Stack besteht, neben verschiedenen Datenbank Konzepten, wie Hadoop HBase (NoSql) und Hadoop Hive (SQL), und einem verteilten Dateisystem (Hadoop HDFS), aus einer Reihe weiterer Tools. Somit ergeben sich viele Ansätze und Möglichkeiten Methoden des maschinellen Lernens in Projekten erfolgreich umzusetzen. Je nach Projektanforderungen kann der Toolstack individuell an die erforderlichen Bedingungen angepasst und erweitert werden. Eine Auswahl von Tools die in unseren Projekten zum Einsatz kommen:

  • Programmierung: Python3
  • Virtualisierung: docker, anaconda, virtualenv
  • Notebook Platform: Jupyter Hub
  • Machine Learning: TensorFlow, Keras, Scikit-learn
  • Data Analysis: pandas, matplotlib, rapids
  • Smart Service Interface: django, flask, nodejs


GPU Nodes für Deep Learning

8 CUDA-fähige GPUs (NVIDIA Tesla-P100 je 12 GB) gewährleisten die notwendige Performanz zur Ausführung rechenintensiver Operationen wie beispielsweise maschinelles Lernen mit tiefen neuronalen Netzen. So können auch komplexe Pipelines und Lernprozesse mit einer großen Anzahl an Parametern effizient ausgeführt werden. Verfügbare APIs:

  • NVIDIA CUDA
  • OpenCL
  • OpenACC