FH Bielefeld
University of
Applied Sciences

New ERASMUS+ cooperation agreement

Gruppe vor der Universität Malaga

Dr. Sabantina, Head of the Junior Research Group „Nanomaterials”, initiated this new cooperation agreement. The contact was established through joint research and publications in the field of electrospinning.

Prof. Dr. Tomás Cordero Alcántara, Vice-President of the PhD School, Prof. Dr. José Rodríguez-Mirasol and Prof. Juana María Rosas Martínez support the ERASMUS+ cooperation between the Bielefeld University of Applied Sciences and the University of Malaga and are pleased about the collaboration. The EU ERASMUS+ programm is an asset for both universities, promotes mobility for teaching purposes, and contributes to transnational cooperation and internationalisation.

The „Terma Group” (Waste and environmental technology, TEP-184) under the supervision of Prof. Dr. Tomás Cordero Alcántara and Prof. Dr. José Rodríguez-Mirasol are focusing their research on the utilization of biomass and industrial waste for pyrolysis and gasification processes, removal of pollutants, production of carbon-based fibers/balls by application of electrospinning / electrospray technology.

The junior research group „Nanomaterials” concentrates its research on electrospinning and the production of carbon nanofibers and mycelium of the fungus Plerotus Ostreatus /polyacrylonitrile nanocomposites.

During the one week guest lectures at the University of Malaga Dr. Lilia Sabantina presented current developments in the field of nanofibers and composites. Furthermore, the recent publications of the junior research group „Nanomaterials” were presented to students and professors of the University of Malaga. In an active exchange the working methods in electrospinning between both research groups were exchanged and joint research projects were discussed.

The junior research group „Nanomaterials” is very pleased about this new cooperation agreement and cordially invites the Spanish colleagues to visit Bielefeld.

Special thanks to Mrs. Barbara Lawatski and Mrs. Lilian Barranco Luque from the International Office at the Bielefeld University of Applied Sciences and University of Malaga for their great engagement in the support of the preparation of cooperation agreements.